tour of testis

Did I show you the pictures from my tour of the larger-than-life testis? It was very cool in the Fantastic Voyage sense, although it didn’t make me feel like Raquel Welch. The images are dark–click to enlarge–because the action shows up better in the midnight environment.

Avatars wear a tour hud to view the stages of development of sperm and are encouraged to use the mouselook view. I think this simulation would be of terrific interest to science students who are visual learners.

I’m lucky I went when it was announced by Doug Danforth of Ohio State University. It is unavailable now to general visitors. I got in when he wanted viewers to test it out. But you can visit the TELRport island where other research projects are going on: http://slurl.com/secondlife/TELRport/89/211/24

Leave a Reply

