African American Culture in Virtual (and actual) Montmartre

From Sharon Collingwood at Ohio State University, two events:

VIRTUAL MONTMARTRE
Sunday, February 26
2pm Eastern, 11am Pacific (SLT)

Josephine Baker sang there, Gertrude Stein wrote poetry, and  countless artists and musicians have made its cafes and bistros their home.  It’s not surprising that it has been reproduced in Second Life, an interactive virtual world.   The virtual version of this famous Parisian neighborhood is hosted by Central Missouri State University, and it is a gathering place for a growing community of 3D artists.  The immersive multimedia spaces created at Virtual Montmartre are open to the public, and are a favorite for student field trips and independent exploration.

This Sunday Dr. Roberta Kilkenny will be be speaking about African American culture’s influence on Montmartre, and she will lead a tour to some of the more famous sites in Virtual Montmartre. Dr. Kilkenny teaches in the Department of Africana and Puerto Rican/Latino Studies at Hunter College, CUNY, and is known in Second Life as Oronoque Westland.

The lecture will be held on Minerva, research and teaching space for the Department of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at The Ohio State University.  We meet in the amphitheater, and after the lecture and discussion, we’ll continue to Virtual Montmartre.

To join us, please download the Second Life viewer: http://secondlife.com/support/downloads/
Then use the link on that page to join Second Life (free).

Use this link to arrive at the Minerva amphitheater:  http://slurl.com/secondlife/Minerva/53/218/27

Come an hour early if you’d like a little help learning how to use Second Life. Individual or group sessions can be set up at other times by contacting Dr. Sharon Collingwood (SL: Ellie Brewster) at collingwood.7@osu.edu

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY CONCERT
Sunday, March 4

Join us for an afternoon of LIVE music and socializing. We have a great lineup of talented women to keep your virtual toes tapping!

11 am Pacific Time (2 pm Eastern, 7pm U.K.)
Naftali Torok- European folk  & Gypsy fiddling
Listen to Naftali here: http://www.reverbnation.com/naftalitorok

12 pm Pacific Time (3 pm Eastern, 8pm U.K.)
AM Forte – Rock and Blues
Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFMvM0JSOXc

1 pm Pacific Time (4 pm Eastern, 9pm U.K.)
SonyaJevette Charisma, blues
Video: http://youtu.be/gBjnKrh49jI

2 pm Pacific Time (5 pm Eastern,10 pm U.K.)
TerryLynn Melody, folk
Listen: http://www.reverbnation.com/terrylynnmelody

3 pm Pacific Time (6 pm Eastern,11 pm U.K.)
The Choo Choo Chicks, Jazz
Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5V0F-9xMuo

Minerva is the virtual research and teaching space for the Department of Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at The Ohio State University

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s